Moments

Krimson 35

Krimson 35

18th January 2013

Appalagraharam, January 8

“The doctor gave me this,” she said, putting a strip of medicine in my hand.

“For what?” I asked.

“To have regular periods.”

“Have you been having irregular periods?”

“Recently I had one 15 days late.”

How about before that?

No, only that one time.

Oh honey, I thought. But I did not say what I thought.

“So you had only one late period and you told the doctor you were not having periods regularly?”

“I told the doctor I wanted to have children and she said this would make my periods come regularly.”

“What prompted you to go and see this doctor?”

“Well a few of us ladies were talking in the village about how we wanted to have kids and one of them was going to see this doctor so I thought I would go along with her. The doctor gave all of us this medicine.”

The medicine was Krimson 35.

If you type Krimson 35 into the google search window, your results will come from sites coming under the category of “Pharmaceutical blogs” like:

http://www.prescriptiondrug-info.com/topics/krimson-35/
http://www.indusladies.com/forums/
http://www.indusladies.com/forums/fertility-and-trying-to-conceive/78870-what-polycystic-ovary-krimson-35-a.html
http://www.pharmainfo.net/supriya-vavilapalli/krimson-35-drug-mostly-used-treat-pcod
answers.yahoo.com

These sites allow visitors to post questions and also answer questions posted by others. They also allow advertisers to reach out to those posting questions and answers. There is nothing to prevent advertisers from posting and answering questions on the site as well.

and on down to
http://www.healthcaremagic.com
where you have the option, apart from browsing or posting on the forum for free, to seek an answer from an online doctor, for a fee.

I was surprised that I did not get results from a single university, hospital or government site. Not even Wikipedia. Still from what I read I could gather that this medicine was prescribed for PCOS and it did not seem that the doctor had gathered enough information to determine that my friend had PCOS. I asked her when the doctor asked her to start the medicine. “She said to start it.” she replied.
“Did she ask you to start now or on a particular date?” I asked.

“She just said to start it.”

Hard to tell whether the doctor said to start now or later. The websites I had checked said that one should start taking the tablets on the first day of the menstrual cycle. I do not know whether this is correct either, but it does not seem to be what the doctor communicated to my friend. Moreover, this appears to be a contraceptive.

I felt like going and asking who else was taking this medicine. But I was not sure how to go about it. I asked a friend who is a doctor in Mumbai about it and he said, “About Krimson 35, there is a fair amount of misuse. However, it is a response to the demand from families and the pressure to bear children – fertility, as you know, being a central point in the Indian context.”

Standard

Leave a Reply

